help_outline Skip to main content

News / Articles

Recording of "Redistricting Changes, with Ranjan Rohatgi & Leigh Morris" (July Lunch w. the League)

Published on 7/9/2021
Watch recording:

Leigh Morris and Ranjan Rohatgi are our District 2 Republican and Democrat members of the Indiana Citizens Redistricting Commission Indiana (ICRC).

The ICRC advocates for redistricting reform in Indiana. It was formed in December 2010 by Common Cause/Indiana, Downs Center for Politics at IPFW, the League of Women Voters of Indiana, and AARP Indiana. The ICRC is a diverse and multi-partisan group of Indiana voters composed of nine members: three Republicans, three Democrats and three members who are neither Republican nor Democrat. We learned what has gone on until now, what to anticipate from this commission going forward, and how we can benefit and help!

Speaker bios:

Ranjan Rohatgi teaches in the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science at Saint Mary's College, where he received the Donald R. and Nora Barry Fischer Award for Teaching Excellence in 2020. He is an affiliate of the Institute of Mathematics and Democracy. He has studied and taught classes on gerrymandering from a mathematical point of view. He has a BA in mathematics from Northwestern University and a Ph.D. in mathematics from IU-Bloomington. Mr. Rohatgi has lived in Indiana for ten years.

Leigh Morris is a native of Hartford City, Indiana, and he received his BS from Ball State University and his Masters in Healthcare Administration from the University of Minnesota. His career path included more than 30 years as a hospital executive and service as Mayor of La Porte, after which he served in several key positions for the State of Indiana. He was named a Sagamore of the Wabash by Governor O’Bannon in 1999 and received the Governor’s Distinguished Service Medal from Governor Daniels in 2012. He is a former Chairman of the LaPorte County Republican Party.